External battery questions (Olive Musica)

Flashman

• Devialet Expert 220 Pro and Vivd Oval 1.5s
External battery questions (Olive Musica)
« on: 23 Jan 2007, 11:21 am »
Hi Everyone,

I am a lurker turned newbie (just registered today) in Greenville, SC (home to Michelin North America, where I work, the only BMW factory in North America and Shoeless Joe Jackson :thumb:).  I have just ordered a Sig 30 and will be sending Vinnie my Olive Musica for a mod.  Of course, as with many of you with items on order, I am in an extreme anticipatory mood.

The question I have today is anyone's experience with an external battery.  At times, such as when my wife and I have parties, we like to play our music for up to eight hours.  I know in correspondence with Vinnie that the modded Musica will last about six hours on the internal batteries.  I am going to order an external battery and am just curious as to whether anyone has done this and what their experience is like.  What battery did you order, what make (does it matter?) and are you pleased with the decision?  I would like to run the Musica for at least eight hours.

I plan to hook up the Sig 30/Olive Musica combo to my (original) Klipsh Forte speakers.  Nice, efficient, horn-loaded (tweets and mid-range) speaker from 1987.  Should sound sweet!

Oh, I also plan on selling my Cayin TA30 integrated tube amp, modified by BizzyBee.  Any idea where I could sell, as I have not sold audio equipment online before.

Many thanks, Flashman

ZLS

Re: External battery questions (Olive Musica)
« Reply #1 on: 23 Jan 2007, 12:43 pm »
aa    I have the Olive Musica with an external battery and I highly recommend it.  You will have no problem running 8+ hours on it.  In fact, I also have an external HD that Vinnie modified to run off the same battery.  I had Vinnie make up the battery by attaching the necessary cables, but you can probably do it yourself.  I have it sitting behind my system on the floor. 
    I hope this has been helpful.