Smoke... and a few burned resistors. Ideas?

tommystery

Smoke... and a few burned resistors. Ideas?
« on: 15 Jan 2007, 03:55 pm »
Alright, so I turned on my stratos this morning; Klaus is going to kill me but it's an ODL.  If you read back on the forum I bought it blindly and thought I was getting the real thing.  I had even come on this board to post a rave review of the product compared to my previous amp, and that's when I found out that it wasn't the real thing.  Anyway... onto this morning's story...

I turned on my Stratos, I think I heard the relays flip for a second and then flip back; but there's no sound coming out of the unit.  I opened it up and there was a lot of smoke.  All the fuses are intact and there is no visible burning aside from the resistors beside the relay on one channel (see picture).  However neither of the channels are working.  Does anyone have any ideas?

I have some soldering experience so this is something I could probably fix myself if I knew which components to replace, what I'd like to really know is what caused it to blow up in the first place though.  It was working fine last night.

Thanks,
Rob.

tommystery

Re: Smoke... and a few burned resistors. Ideas?
« Reply #1 on: 15 Jan 2007, 04:04 pm »
Ok a small update, I plugged in the unit and turned it on.  The channel on which the resistors are blown the relay turns on.  The other one doesn't, so I would assume that there is no damage done to the other channel as the relay never turned on.

jqp

• Volunteer
  • Each CD lovingly placed in the nOrh CD-1
« Reply #2 on: 15 Jan 2007, 04:42 pm »
Is this even an Odyssey amp then? Maybe this should go in The Lab.

tommystery

« Reply #3 on: 15 Jan 2007, 04:56 pm »