My Ultimate 70 Review

daveshel

My Ultimate 70 Review
« on: 19 Dec 2006, 01:38 am »
I purchased an Audio by van Alstine Ultimate 70 in March, 2006. I had been familiar with Frank's work since the early 1980s and had already had great results with AVA upgrades to solid state electronics (an OmegaStar PAT5 and an OmergStar 170EX). I am just as pleased as punch with my Ultimate 70, and would have reviewed it sooner, but I felt that my lack of a frame of reference would not make for a very instructive review. But I'll give it a shot anyway.

I have heard three iterations of a Stereo 70. When I became interested in the idea go going with a tube amp, it was the Untimate 70 that was responsible. I had read about it here. I had been more or less a collector of Dynaco solid state gear for many years, but I did not have a Stereo 70. I started playing around on ebay, and eventually won a stock unit. When I first plugged turned it on, I was struck by the soundstage, but the tonality of the amp was horrible - like singers holding their hands in front of their faces. I recognized that this amp needed recapped. A few weeks later I saw another amp, this refurbished by triageaudio. He keeps the units mostly stock, replacing caps and tube sockets and resoldering everything. I'm not sure why it was that I got into a bidding war on it, but I ended up paying $431 + another 30 for shipping. This unit sounded much better; had pretty good tone in addition to a great soundstage. I still use it in my 'extra' system.