ULTRA DAC impressions please?

Rob S.

ULTRA DAC impressions please?
« on: 13 Nov 2006, 03:24 pm »
Hi all,
     I'm new to the digital realm of audio and have the ULTRA DAC at the top of my list to help clean up my dig. front end. I realize I'll get good feedback on this forum, but before I spent 1600 bucks, what other DAC's would make the real short list.  OR if you've got an ULTRA, what did  you choose it over after auditioning several dacs? 

Great thing about the AVA DAC is the 30 day trial period.  I'm looking forward to trying it with both DVD player and carousel CDp, especially to see if the transport doesn't make any difference at all.  ( jitter )

You can pm me or I can get another thread going in another category.  Or just post here if it doesn't upset the rules.

Thanks,

Rob S. 

Dan Kolton

Re: ULTRA DAC impressions please?
« Reply #1 on: 13 Nov 2006, 04:18 pm »
I chose the Ultra over my previous AVA DAC.  No auditioning discs-just sent it in for upgrade 'cause Frank told me it sounded better.  He's never told me this without proving to be correct, and I've sure had lots of experience with his stuff (since the tube PAS Dyna in the '70s).

Zheeeem

« Reply #2 on: 13 Nov 2006, 05:10 pm »
My first DAC was an Omega.  It made more difference than any other electronics I had ever bought.  So, when it was time to upgrade I went with the Ultra.  While the Omega is a great DAC, the Ultra is better.  Read Suzy's TAS review.  She liked it... a lot!!!

Toka

« Reply #3 on: 13 Nov 2006, 06:49 pm »
Is the Ultra DAC HDCD compatible? How about DVD-A/SACD?

EclecticSeeker

• Archetypical aging audiophile...
« Reply #4 on: 13 Nov 2006, 08:12 pm »
I have an Electrocompaniet DAC that I am very happy with.  If you want to check out a non-AVA, by all means try this manufacturer.  I would love an opportunity to A-B it against Frank’s Ultra, though.