Technics SL-1200MK2 parts help, please, RCA and Power cables???

kenscott30

Dear List,

I am almost there, I finally have a nice TT, well almost.  I got a 'free' 1200, oh with a bent tone arm and it was in the basement for years, nasty.  So I took it to an authorized audio repair center, it was +-$250 in parts and labor to get it 'going' again...  A new one is 435.00 shipped for a 1210MK5.  So I took it home and I took it all apart, all apart.  After getting the service manual and looking at about 10 websites I have a few questions. 

I am looking to replace the cables on the TT.  I can go with the panni stock parts but it seems like craziness to pay $20.00 for crap RCAs and 15.00 for a stock power-cord.

What are your thoughts?  I have to spend some serious cash on getting it back up to snuff but this will be the First and Last TT that I ever own.  I know about KAB and partstore.com But I am new to TT and vinyl.  There must be some Bluejean sort of RCA, ground cord or power cords for the TT.....

Can I do better than this?  http://www.hydrawire.com/technics.htm
Thanks in advance.

Ken

« Last Edit: 12 Oct 2006, 02:33 pm by kenscott30 »

Psychicanimal

Can I do better than this?  http://www.hydrawire.com/technics.htm

Not for the money, though Kevin @ KAB uses better connectors.  I've never seen that site before, though... :scratch:

It would be great to have the cables cryo treated and then cooked for 30 days on a cable cooker!

I strongly suggest you keep the unit for spare parts and save your pennies for a new 1200.  Seriously.

kenscott30