What have you found to be your favorite turntable/cartridge combo?

Wayner

Perhaps this question has been asked many times before on this forum, but I'm fairly new to the AC's. I'm a old dim wit, just look at my photo to the left...now that's a dumb looking guy. I do know to get out of the way when the cow lifts its tail, though!

As an example, I have fallen in love with the Audio Technica AT440ml for my AR-XA turntable. It is almost a match made in heaven. I  have also become very fond of the Sumiko Blue Point Special in my VPI. But the Grado/Empire 598 marriage is going to divorce court and real soon.

Sooooo, let's start with the Empire 598 turntable from all of you vintage owners. What cartridge do you like with this table? I don't really want an opinion, I want to hear from someone that has the cartridge mounted in their turntable and would be more than happy to recommend it to their fellow vinyl heads.

This could be a fun topic where we could actually help each other! :thumb:

This goes for any brand/model turntable with any brand/model cartridge.

WEEZ

Too many to mention, as far as good combo's go.... :)

I am not familiar with Empire, so I cannot comment. But knowing that Grado's can be sensitive to some installations....have you tried the Grado on the VPI...and the Sumiko on the Empire?...

If your VPI has the Audioquest arm, the adjustable damping (at least on the PT-9) might help with a synergistic match...if it's JMW arm, don't bother.

One match that works without fail, is a Rega tt/arm with a Dynavector cartridge. Almost foolproof. Dyna's work well in most arms though.

Still love my Grado..

WEEZ

mcrespo71

A rega arm and a dynavector cartridge

mtodde

Although the JMW-9 isn't supposed to work well with low compliance cartridges, it is magical with the Shelter 501 Mk. II on my Scout.  One of these days I'll have to move up to the Signature which is rumored to mate even better with the 501.

zybar

• Volunteer