Ok, so I just got a simple, old, cheap vinyl rig set-up.

PaulHilgeman

So,

Two weeks ago, my father gave me his old turntable.  I have very little turntable experience.  He didnt have a preamp to go with it, so I ordered a Pro-Ject PhonoBox2.  Somthing just to get me started.

The TT is a Dual 1219 from 1971 I think.  I cant remember what cartridge it had, but it wasnt stock.

I went through a bunch of the adjustments by reading some websites and talking to my father about it, I think I have a pretty good handle on things for now. 

I had several albums that I had bought just for nostalgia reasons of having some of my favorites. 

So, bottom line, it sounds pretty darn good, and much better than I was expecting.  I cant believe how extended it sounds in both directions. 

So, I have a few questions.

The cartridge is pretty new as far as playing time goes, but it is about 10 years old.  Any reason to replace?

Was this even a well-regarded table?

In trying to attain a good vinyl rig, what would be my places to start.  I am guessing it involves trashing the table and moving to somthing else.  Is there an upgrade path that maybe involves just the cartride for now, then maybe move that cart. to a new table etc?  That would allow me to at least hear some of the changes, and framiliarize myself with vinyl playback systems in general.

Maybe a new arm, this one seems pretty chintzy, it is aluminum.

Thanks!
Paul Hilgeman

lcrim

Brad

Re: Ok, so I just got a simple, old, cheap vinyl rig set-up.
« Reply #2 on: 14 Sep 2006, 09:03 pm »
Clean your records.
Only play clean records on the TT.

Try damping the TT with some Plasti-clay - see links in this circle
Try the Longhorn mod on your cartridge - also linked in this circle

I got my current turntable used on *bay for about $100 - and I like the sound as well as the Music Hall MMF-5 I had before - which was $500.