How can I mod the DAC-60?

persolo

How can I mod the DAC-60?
« on: 3 Sep 2006, 07:49 pm »
Hi,

I recently got myself a DAC60 and would like to mod it myself but need some instructions as I have never done anything like this before. What kind of parts should I replace, where do I buy them, how do I change the tubes, etc.

Hope anyone can give me some pointers :wink:

PS! My dad is an electrician so I will ask him for help when I know what we will have to change.

JoshK

Re: How can I mod the DAC-60?
« Reply #1 on: 4 Sep 2006, 03:04 am »
I am planning to pick one of these up to mod.  I have been reading up on the digital side of things, as I already have some pretty good ideas on the analog side.  I'd be willing to start a project in the open when I get to it (warning! this may mean quite some time).  In the mean time I can guide you on some ideas I have.  You'd be the guineau pig.

Wonder if we could get a schematic?  That would help immensely.  If not, I could reverse engineer one.

Btw, good choice of mod candidates.  Its got a good receiver and the BB1704U dac is suppose to be the bomb (multi-bit, not the typical sigma-delta schleck they pimp now). 

I plan to use this dac to test out a scheme for slaving the transport off the DAC's clock.  So this will mean some surgery to the DAC's clock, but it isn't too complicated of surgery.  After this is done, then I will examine how the I/V stage is implemented and if neccesary go after that, then the tube gain stage (easy part).  Of course, before all of these comes the low haning fruit, which is the power supply.  PSU's usually leave the easiest mods to be done.

persolo

« Reply #2 on: 4 Sep 2006, 11:19 am »
JoshK: I've sent you a PM.