Need help matching center channel speaker with mains

didymus

I'm a newbie so please bear with me.  I'm not sure if this is the right circle for my questions.  Here goes...

I have two sets of front speakers (not used at the same time) each of which have 7" woofers.  Now I
wouldn't know the size of these woofers if I hadn't read a reference to them on the Internet.
                      How do you measure the size of a woofer?
                          Diameter of the outside frame which I can't see?
                          Center-to-center of the frame mounting holes which I also can't see?
                          Outside diameter of the surround which I can see?
                          Outside diameter of the cone which I can see?

Is there a standard for measurement, and, if so, what is it?

One pair of the speakers has two 7" woofers per speaker.  The other pair has a single 7" woofer per speaker.
                      What criteria do I use to properly match a center channel speaker to the two fronts?
                           Do I use the size of the woofers?  Are there very many center channel speakers
                                with 7" woofers?
                           Do I match on brand names?  This is probably not viable since the speaker pairs are
                                different brands.
                           Is center channel speaker matching different when the fronts have two woofers
                                per speaker vs one woofer per speaker?
                           Do I use some other criteria which might be difficult for me to ascertain?

I've read statements regarding the matching of certain brand name speakers to certain receiver brands.
(Ex. Don't use Klipsch with a Yamaha receiver.  Rather use a Paradigm or Polk Audio with the Yamaha.)
Is there any validity in statements like this?  I'm currently using a Yamaha RX-V1200 receiver.

Many thanks for your replies.

Al Garay