Anyone ever decide they are "good enough"?

Hantra

« on: 30 May 2003, 02:01 pm »
All:

I have been playing for only 5-6 years.  During those years, I pretty much taught myself on the web, and played tabs of songs I like.  It wasn't until a couple years ago that I decided to take lessons.  I met this guy who is recommended by Flatpicking magazine as the premier instructor on the East coast.  So I signed up, and waited 6 months for a spot.  

I learned at a startling rate once I started lessons with this guy.  In 2 years, I got many many times better than I was when I started the lessons.  

A few months ago, I got to this point where I was at a crossroads.  Several weeks went by where it was obvious that if I was going to get any better at flatpicking, then I was going to have to make a huge step forward in my dedication to it, and practice more hours every day.  I struggled with it for a while, and finally I decided that I just didn't want to give what it took to get better at flatpicking, and I stopped taking my lessons.  

Right now, I have pretty much decided that it would be nice to be better at guitar, but that I am not willing to give what it takes to guitar.  So, I feel that I am "good enough" for now.  I play for myself, and no one else, so I am not looking to get better for a band, or for anyone else.  I suppose when I decide I want to get better, I will continue lesons, but for now, I am satisfied.  

Have nay of you reached that point?  Is that a bad thing?  I just don't want something that I started for fun, to become a pain in the @ss.  You know?  

B

nathanm

« Reply #1 on: 30 May 2003, 03:01 pm »