Power Conditioning for Switching Supplied Components

Adamay

Hi.  Occam's posts in the Nuforce circle have really gotten me intrigued but, to tell you the truth, the thought of making a Felicia gives me the willies.  (In a past life, I made a Jon Risch power conditioner and a Risch digital isolation filter, but now I've got a 4-year old and am less up to mucking about where I have too little experience/knowledge.)   So... Question: if I want to get a commercially-made version from Ebay, what am I looking for?  What different types of options -- balanced, or filtering, or ... (whatever) would improve the performance of a pair of Nuforces?  Thanks a bunch.

Occam

Re: Power Conditioning for Switching Supplied Components
« Reply #1 on: 26 Apr 2006, 01:51 am »
To my knowledge, there isn't a readily available solution on Ebay, other than the occasional balancing powerconditioner from Furman, with which I've no personal experience. I have heard NuForce amps (8.xx), on a BPT balancing conditioner, as well an Audience Adept, both of which provided substantial benefits. But I'd assume you'd be far more likely to find these on Audiogon, at typical reseale prices for audio components that are in demand  :( .
As you've already built a Jon Risch digital isolation filter a Felicia -
http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=18441
should be no problem. The Felicia is based upon Jon's design and really isn't very different in implementation. For source components, the Felicia's limitations with regards to voltage droop, isn't overly problematic for these devices for they can operate over a large range of AC mains voltages. And for those with 220-240vac mains, the typical downrating required of transformers to operate on 120vac balanced, is not a limitation, and appropriate transformers are available from RS, Farnell, JPR....