New To AC, questions about Omega

kittyboy

« on: 7 Apr 2006, 04:26 pm »
Howdy, my name's David.  I've spent a lot of time on AA and Agon but just joined AC, largely because of interest in Omega and Red Wine.

My first question:  is there anywhere in NYC that I can hear Omegas?  I've owned lots of great speakers over the years but left my Audio Note system in storage in California and am now looking to build a less-expensive system in NYC.  I have interest but no experience w/single driver systems.  Where can I check them out?  From initial research I think I'm most interested in Super 3, maybe XRS, which leads me to question 2.

I've been a professional bassist (jazz mostly, but pop too) most of my life, so bass is very important to me--doesn't have to be pipe organ low, but realistic, natural and hopefully down to 42hz or a little lower.  So the question is:  do the XRS really give you 42?  
If they don't, that's cool too--I could add a sub.  But if I'm going to add a sub then perhaps it doesn't make sense to get the XRS, you know?

Overall I'm looking for the most natural presentation possible; PRaT is my other big priority.  I've had great success with audio note speakers and arrived there via quad ESL and 63s, and other speakers too, but the ANs are a bit too expensive for a second system.  
Speakers I'm currently considering are Reynaud, Spendor, and Reference 3A de capo-i.   If anybody feels like telling me how Omegas fit in with my priorities and also how they compare with the other speakers on my list I'd be most appreciative.

This is a great forum.  I'd burned out on AA and it's nice to discover AC.

westcoast

« Reply #1 on: 8 Apr 2006, 12:47 am »
Welcome, David!!  Great to have you here.  I'm sure others will chime in with suggestions, but I direct you to this thread at the moment:

http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=27072

Why not make a little jaunt to this affair to meet with the boys in the flesh?  No better way...

Welcome.

SET Man