Relationship between enclosure volume and stuffing/damping

Arctos

Greetings,
Can anyone tell me in laymans terms what the relationship is between speaker cabinet volume and damping material?  If you calculate the proper volume for an enclosure, does adding damping material make the enclosure seem smaller or larger to the driver?  I know this is a newbie question, but I am a newbie, after all  :).

Also, what is the relationship between port volume/length and enclosure volume?

Last question: is there an easier way to calculate enclosure volume than using unibox?  The reason I ask is that I find this program to be a little too technical for me, and I cannot figure how to enter the proper statistics for a driver that is not already listed in the driver choices (I'm trying to calculate for a Tangband W3-871).

Regards,

RDS

JohnR

Re: Relationship between enclosure volume and stuffing/dampi
« Reply #1 on: 15 May 2003, 02:53 am »
Quote from: Arctos
If you calculate the proper volume for an enclosure, does adding damping material make the enclosure seem smaller or larger to the driver?

For a sealed box, it makes it seem larger. For a ported box, adding damping seems to have the effect of reducing the Q and making the bass response slope down a bit earlier. *In general* it's recommended not to heavily stuff a ported box.

Last question: is there an easier way to calculate enclosure volume than using unibox?  The reason I ask is that I find this program to be a little too technical for me, and I cannot figure how to enter the proper statistics for a driver that is not already listed in the driver choices (I'm trying to calculate for a Tangband W3-871).

It's not hard, you just need to enter the parameters near the top left of the spreadsheet. Specifically, Fs, Qms, Qes, Sd, and Vas. The others are good to enter if you have them but won't affect what you are trying to do right now. Give it a go and then come back with more questions ;-)

JohnR