Searching for a GREAT monitor!

sjh500

« on: 2 Feb 2006, 03:16 pm »
Hello everyone, I have been using Meadowlark Kestral 2's for the past 2 years and am ready to move on. I use a Cayin 35 watt el34 based intergrated tube amp and I have a Audio Note cd 3.1x coming as my source. My room is 12x15x8 and has french doors at the end of the long side. I have been looking at the Reimer Mucculogh's and some of the Tyler's along with Harbeth's. The only ones I have been able to listen to are the Harbeth 30's, thought they had very nice midrange which is important as I listen to a lot of female vocals, the bass was very good especially for a monitor BUT I thought that the upper end was restrained and not life like or "accurate".  That being said I don't like a speaker that is going to let me know that the treble is present, I like balance and a natural sound across the board. I would be happy to find a monitor that could reach down to the mid thirty's or below with in room response. Overall I want a speaker that sucks you in to the emotions of the music being played while not thinking about what the speaker is lacking!
  My question is, can the sp tech. speakers do all of this for around 2000$? Second, I saw that there is a new speaker, the Essence with two bass units? Is this the one? I live in Austin so if anybody has any of these speakers hear I would love to come listen. Thanks for all of your help ahead of time! :mrgreen:
  Also, if anyone has had experience with some of the more well known monitors out their maybe you could do some comparisons for me that I may have heard. I have listened to Vienna acoustics Haydn, thought it was ok, One of the Totem small monitors thought it was not musical and sonus Faber concertino didn't like very much.

Carlman

« Reply #1 on: 2 Feb 2006, 03:58 pm »
I'm considering a pair of the Timepiece 2.1's but they're about double your budget.. The prices are on their site..