New to Van Alstine- HELP!!!

alpha_03

« on: 23 Dec 2005, 03:52 am »
Hi everyone and Merry Christmas!!!!

I have a few questions, I hope you dont mind helping me out?

I am new to tube gear- sort of- .

Any way, I just bought a perfect, yes thats right perfect, Van Alstine Super PAS 3 in the box at an estate sale, it may be new- I am not sure, although I have no manual.

I was wondering what are the speaker selection modes refering to- there is a rectangle, a square, and a small rectangle, and then a+b, a, b, mono, however, I can only select 4 from the above, that is to say the rectangles and the a+b, none of the others- is this normal?

On the back of the unit it states "omega output buffers installed", what does this mean?

I can supply serial number if needed. My only wish are two, that this unit was of the typical audio gear sizing, and that it was black in color, other wise, it is very impressive for its date of manufacture. It rivals, and surpasses most of my other hi-end pre amps in the trebble and midrange, all be it the bass isnt as good (tight) as a few pre's I have on hand.

Any pertinient info would be appreciated.

Thank you, And Happy Holidays.

Alpha_03

omniclassic

New to Van Alstine - Help
« Reply #1 on: 23 Dec 2005, 08:18 pm »
I believe that the switch you are reffering to is a carry over from the old original Dynaco Pre-amp from which the Van Alstine Super Pas series was derived,.... although the VA circuits are far superior to the original.

The switch controls the width of the stereo image from full stereo to mono and a couple stops in between. Unless you have a reason to listen in mono or something in between, just leave it in the stereo position.

I recently repaired my own Super Pas 3 after it lay dormant for almost 18 years,... had to replace an ailing power transformer. It is still one of my favorite pre-amps and sounds great even after all those years. What was I waiting for?

Ben

alpha_03

« Reply #2 on: 24 Dec 2005, 01:10 am »