Storing your life's photographs in digital...

SET Man

« on: 3 Dec 2005, 06:50 am »
Hi guys,

Well, as a photographer I can't escape the digital photography and recently step into the digital world. I now have one foot in the digital photography... yet still have the other in the traditional film photography, especially B&W of which I love :love:

Now my Apple PowerBook built in 40g HD is now almost maxed out so I have been looking for an external HD. Working with PhotoShop and many MB later. I now have to look for more storage space :(

Thanks to this theard http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=23078&highlight=seagate and with some research on CNET.com Seem like the Maxtor HD are not very reliable... as showed from PhilNYC's exprience and the new popular LaCie are not that great either, acturally I've read from one of the review on CNET.com that LaCie use HD from Maxtor internally... great design though.

So, I picked up a 400GB Seagate HD today to be my storage device http://www.jr.com/JRProductPage.process?Product=4013371  Cost me $320 from J&R in NYC... ouch! :o  The Seagate performance is slow according to the CNET.com but that is fine for me. My only concern is the reliability since I will be storing photo files. The company had been around longer than most so I assumed that they know what they are doing. :wink:

I hope I've made the rigth choice here since my works and my personal photos will be in there. Of cause I will be backing those photo files on other device too just incase. My other long term storage choice is CDR... the 300 years gold CDR eFilm from http://www.delkin.com/delkin_products_archival_gold.html :wink: I'm not sure if this is the same as the MoFi gold CDR of which they sell for more.. I think. :scratch: