Video settings to optimize video quality?

pennylane

« on: 22 Nov 2005, 09:22 pm »
I have mediocre equipment (I'm a college student but I've strung together some speakers, a receiver, etc.).  My TV is only a Samsung flat CRT but supposedly it's HD ready, the option is just not accessible from standard menus.  I have an Onkyo DV-CP802 for a DVD player.

I realize the limits but I'm fairly certain that color and various other settings could be adjusted to make the picture better.  I know that I know next to nothing about video stuff.  I don't expect a miracle or anything but I'll take what I can get.  Is there anything I can do?  Thanks.

Edit: Also, there is a vertical line on my screen ever since I started using composite video cables.  It's transparent but noticable with light colors.  Any idea how to get rid of it?

nathanm

« Reply #1 on: 22 Nov 2005, 09:47 pm »
If you are willing to accept the possbility of electrocution I might suggest opening up your set to see if there's any controls hidden inside.  I got a used TV and the picture was dying, but after I popped it open I realized the bastards had hidden all the good shit inside!  Hue adjustment, RGB gain, focus, all sorts of stuff all on little pots you adjust with a screwdriver!  (in olden times I remember these being external!)  After tweaking the knobs (a mirror helps so you can see what you're doing) I got an excellent image out of it.  Natural flesh tones, great contrast, sharp, no blooming colors, looks awesome.