hardware recommendations for pc audio/musicsever setup w/sb3

hum4god

hi
i am trying to take my first steps in computer audio and wanted to ask you if you can help me putting together an audio pc???
i would like to use it with a modded sb3.
i am not experienced and have only a general idea about what i would need.
what would be a good enclosure ,what fan ,power supply .all as silent as possible????
what drive would you recommend?i have heard lite on drives are good.
i would also need a cd burner of good quality.what else do i need ?
a motherboard what are the requirements for that in an audio setup?
memory/buffer ????i have no idea .
hd i have heard that the barracuda is silent any other silent hds good quality?
what would i need if i want to play dvds from my computer,do i have to connect with 3 rca ic to the tv (long cable)and another audio stereo ic to my amp??is tthere any other option ?especially having the computer about 8 -10 feet away from the tv setup.

where would i buy this best?how much would it cost?
i would like to spend 700$ ,less would be better and more is possible if it makes sense.
or should i just get a toshiba laptop and an external hd and forget about building a dedicated audio pc.
thanks
malcolm

EchiDna

« Reply #1 on: 21 Nov 2005, 12:48 pm »
Welcome to the Square Circle ;)

that's a hella-lot-o-questions!

to keep it simple, a dedicated audio pc and a squeezebox are not mutually necessary. with a SB3, the PC needs very little by modern standards for audio playback - you could build this out of secondhand parts, or even one of those ex-corporate 3 year old laptops available on Ebay - you would have plenty of change left out of your $700 this way.