Cd player kits and av amp kits

winterslove

« on: 27 Aug 2005, 01:10 am »
Hi all,

As i am a newbie please be understanding if my questions is a really daft one. :stupid:  :stupid:  :stupid:  :stupid:

but why is it that i can not find any diy kits for av amps
or kits for cd players?
not that that i am planning to build one just yet,lol
i just wondered why,that's all,
and i find it very hard to find any for turntables
orgin live use to but they have stopped making them now
according to the lady i spoke to when i called them some months back
as i thought at the time i could build one
but since then have learned to walk before i can run

i was going to ask hugh if he has any plans for a av amp kit
got any hugh, :D  :D  

jason

AKSA

« Reply #1 on: 27 Aug 2005, 02:38 am »
Jason,

CD players are mighty complex beasts, almost all now assembled by robot, so quite inexpensive.  Even as a DIY project, the mechanical and surface mounted component issues would be too complicated and definitely not cost effective.

As for AV amps, yes, I have some ideas, but AV amps are not widely available as high end products yet, moreover most are inexpensively made by robot, and until that time, I don't believe it's viable to do a DIY kit for them either.  But I'm watching......

Cheers,

Hugh

stvnharr

« Reply #2 on: 27 Aug 2005, 03:41 am »
There is a cd transport kit at the following link:  www.digitalanaloguediy.com

This kit uses the highest quality Philips transport, but there is no dac.

Also, there is hawk audio in Netherlands at www.hawkaudio.com
They now list just a dac kit, no complete player.

All depends on your budget!

Tinker

• http://web.access.net.au/~bwilliam/macam
Re: Cd player kits and av amp kits
« Reply #3 on: 27 Aug 2005, 08:26 am »
Quote from: winterslove
Hi all,

but why is it that i can not find any diy kits for av amps
or kits for cd players?