Acoustic Screen Measurements

Kevin P

• http://www.diycable.com
« on: 6 Aug 2005, 07:27 pm »
I've been designing an acoustically transparent screen for my "forever in progress" HT room.    I thought I'd post some of my measurements of the various screen materials.  

Note, that I'm not going to comment on the visual performance of the screen materials.   I'd need a full size sample of each to give them a proper subjective evaluation.   Also.. I'm not a video projector guru.   There are other people more qualified to measure and talk about the video performance.   I'll give my simple subjective opinion of my screen when the project is done and some antidotal comments on the screen materials as I talk about each.

The measurement set-up consists of Praxis with my calibrated mic.   It's good for about -+0.5db and is more than accurate enough for speaker design and these measurements.    The mic is situated on-axis 1.5M from my reference speaker.   I disconnected the woofer network since it wasn't meaningful data for the screens.   All of the screens become completely transparent to sub 500Hz output.   Each screen sample was cut to identical size and hung in front of the reference speaker in the same manner with the same standoff of about 2 inches.

Here is the reference speaker.  It's our LCR center channel, which I use behind the screen.   Normally it has massive amounts of output to 25hz in-room but we have the woofers disconnected for this test.     You can see from roughly 2K-20K (the area we are going to focus on) it is -+1.5db so it's flat within the range of accuracy of our mic, production tolerances between drivers, crossover components and cabinet variability.   It was designed with a little bit of high frequency lift in anticipation of using it behind the screen.