Random questions

CornellAlum

Random questions
« on: 26 Jun 2005, 12:38 am »
Just a couple of random question for the experts, as I am pretty new to the whole audiophool thing, and if they are rookie questions, my apologies.

1.  I am contemplating going seperates.  The biggest reason is that I need more power to drive the 626r's than I have right now.  I listen to 98.9 percent of unmastered, raw concert recordings, and I find myself having to drive my panasonic modded xr-45 quite hard to get the levels I want in my room.  My question would be, how much would I have to spend dollar-wise to get the same performance I am getting now, but with seperates?  I was thinking a tubed pre perhapss, driving hypex class d modulaes for starters.  Would this be "better?"

2.  I am totally confused on how to adjust the parametric EQ on the parts express sub amp Brian now uses with the active subs.  Mine is external, but it's the exact same.  If someone could tell me what the heck I am doing, I would appreciate it.

3.  I was playing around with the putty last night, removed just a bit, and the bass seemed to tighten up.  Is that what it was supposed to do? :oops:

Anyway, thanks for any and all help.  

Daryan

Campindog

Random questions
« Reply #1 on: 26 Jun 2005, 02:06 pm »
1. Does the panasonic have "pre-outs"? If so, you can ease into separates with just an amp. Use the panasonic as a pre-amp only. What kind of budget are you considering? Are these soundboard recordings? Most that I've heard are less than stellar, but sometimes great performances.