ASPEN HAS OS PROBLEMS - SEND MAIL VIA AUDIOCIRCLE

AKSA

« on: 3 Apr 2003, 01:21 pm »
Hi Guys,

Subject says it all;  anyone wishing to contact me, please do so using private messaging within Audiocircle.

Outlook Express seems to have gone south after my daughter ripped a few MP3s of Kaaza Lite.  Moral:  Don't let your children use ripping software!   :oops:

Cheers,

Hugh

EchiDna

« Reply #1 on: 3 Apr 2003, 02:23 pm »
what version of Kazaa lite Hugh?
some of the versions have some bits of spyware still inside them...
try running ad-aware and clean out the trash ;-)

you never know, it could clean out the 'bug'

I've been using kazaa lite for a few years without a hitch...

Greg Erskine

« Reply #2 on: 3 Apr 2003, 09:35 pm »
Hugh said:

Moral: Don't let your children use ripping software!

Should read: Don't let ANYONE use a PC essential for business, unless you've just made a complete image backup.  :wink:

Don't you just hate smart arses. That reminds me, when did I last do a backup.  :?:

Shutting down..... backup in progress.

AKSA

« Reply #3 on: 4 Apr 2003, 01:02 am »
Hi Glen

Two days back I ran Adware 6;  the PC was clean last night.  After 'Ripping Yarns', there were 6 spyware programs, one infected folder, and one infected file.  I don't actually know the Kazaa Lite version, but yes, I noticed it's full of spyware, just like RealAudio.  I cleaned them all out last night, checked ZoneLabs to make sure nothing had the wrong permissions, and then after trying to reload the entire OS, realized late last night that the inbox was probably corrupted and it was only this preventing OE from opening.