Long time lurker, first time poster

Randyhandy

Long time lurker, first time poster
« on: 3 Nov 2023, 12:23 am »
Been researching what direction I'd like to go with a new system I've been saving for, for many years...will be a retirement gift to myself in a couple of years. I think I have a pretty good idea what I want but there's a few questions I have so I need to become a full fledged member before I can start bugging people. Not interested in going through the lifelong evolution of constant upgrades...would rather just be one and done, and enjoy. Besides, once retirement hits the budget will be constrained so I better get it right the first time! Anyway, hello all! :D

FullRangeMan

• Facilitator
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: Long time lurker, first time poster
« Reply #1 on: 3 Nov 2023, 02:17 am »
Welcome to AC  :thumb:
I have just retired also. Constant equips upgrades annoying wifes.
Dont know what you want or already have in your room.
If you dont want bother with replace tubes, I could suggest a reliable 100W Class D amp and a hi sensitivity FR driver as Lii Audio F15 $399/pair or F18 $520/pair in a barrel OB panel as used by Decware below.
[/b]
https://www.lii-audio.com/product/one-pair-18-inch-full-range-speakers-superb-scale-soundstage-with-new-imaging-f-18/

http://www.glowinthedarkaudio.com/lii-audio-f18.html

If you want the best fidelity available you must go Crossoverless, if you want just a hi SPL boxed speaker there are hi power handling pro-audio FR drivers for BassReflex boxes and even plenty of fancy looking commercial brands of hi sensitivity speakers as Klipsch RF7 that use a crossover, in this case you always will have some drawbacks as Tweeter beaming, Phase rotation at the freq cut, driver sensitivity loss, severe Harmonics loss and Retail price.
« Last Edit: 3 Nov 2023, 06:10 am by FullRangeMan »

JLM