Right Channel Static Question

KTS

Right Channel Static Question
« on: 11 May 2023, 09:03 pm »
Good afternoon,
This is an odd issue that just started in my system, I am relatively new at this and am reaching out for advice. Yesterday I was listening to Natalie Merchant the song was Texas. I noticed I was getting some static during the dynamic parts of the song in the right speaker, I just thought it was a transient issue from the tube pre amp, but it would do the same thing every time during that section of song. It did not seem to happen on any other song. I listened to the song with earphones and in my car today no static, when I got home tried it again and had the same issue. I switched the speakers to be sure the neo3 was not the issue. The issue stayed on the right side, so I figured it was the amp, pre amp or source. I found another song that it had the same issue on Nora Jones turn me on. I switch from my iPhone running through a photo adaptor into the AresII usb to the CD player used as a transport through coax and played the song again and it was gone. Has anyone had this issue? It worked with no issues for months on the iPhone. Not sure where to go from here to correct, any ideas would be welcomed.

Thank you, Kelly

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.
Re: Right Channel Static Question
« Reply #1 on: 11 May 2023, 09:19 pm »
I've had this before, many times.  Best thing to do is check the system methodically to isolate the culprit. 

Start with the DAC, switch the left output of the DAC into the right input of the amp.  If the distortion moves then you know it''s the DAC.  If the distortion stays in the same speaker, you know its not the DAC. 

Next do the preamp - switch the left output of the preamp into the right input of the amp.  If the distortion moves, you know it's the preamp.  If the distortion stays in the same speaker, you know it's not the preamp.