Tavish 6SL7 Vintage phono preamp - DIY, Please Read

beeah

Please read this post in its entirety before replying or PMing.

For sale is a “working” Tavish 6SL7 phono pre that I built in a Hammond extruded aluminum chassis with the PCB that they offer(ed) to DIYers.  Aside from the board with pre-installed JFETs, I procured all the parts myself.  I used vintage tubes that I had on hand; no tubes are included.

Why is “working” in quotes?  Well, the MM section works.  However, only one channel of the MC works. 

I’ve thrown in the towel as far as getting it working 100%, but I have had it in my main rig for stretches, using it successfully with MM and with an external SUT for MC.  But I now have two other phono press in the house and I just want to get on with my life.  I have been building audio gear for over 20 years, so you can be confident that the soldering and wiring is not the work of a beginner.  But I didn’t get it fully working, so you may draw your own conclusions.  In my defense, I feel that certain aspects of the circuit are over-engineered and unnecessarily complicate an otherwise fine preamp.

As such (this is the fine print), I am selling everything you see in the pics - the completed preamp, plastic bezels, 555 and LM311P ICs (sockets are on the board), and the 18 VAC (NOT DC!) wall wart - AS-IS, with absolutely no guarantees, express or implied, regarding it’s functionality, usability, or beauty.  Consider it “For parts or repair”.

Other things to know:

• Only one of the LED power indicators works.  This is because I could not get the timer/relay circuit, intended to power the heaters fully before the B+ came on, to work.  As a result there are parts missing from the board as a result of me bypassing the delay and having B+ and heater supplies come on at the same time - just like every other piece of tube gear I’ve ever owned.