USB cables

corndog71

• Some people call me Rob.
USB cables
« on: 20 Jul 2022, 02:18 pm »
I’ve been using Pangea usb cables for several years and they seem to sound ok.  I was just curious what everyone else is using and wondering if there are any real standouts.

WGH

Re: USB cables
« Reply #1 on: 20 Jul 2022, 04:08 pm »
I have tried at least 4 USB cables. All cables are system dependent but there is one standout that is 1,000,000 times better than the rest:

Hapa Aero USB
https://hapaaudio.com/digital-cables/

At $1299 is not for every system. The Aero excels at spacial presentation and low level information like echo and the tail end of an instrument's sound decay. A cello sounds real.
Speakers, electronics, setup and room have to be up to the challenge. The new beryllium tweeters or ribbon tweeters like RAAL with the Aero USB will reveal what most USB cables miss.
A subwoofer that goes down to 20 Hz is helpful because low level info also includes the recording venue's room sound.

jjss49

hi5harry

« Reply #3 on: 20 Jul 2022, 05:44 pm »
Over the last 20 years I have tried too many usb cables in my system. They all sounded different, but not necessarily better. THAT'S NOT THE CASE ANYMORE! I now believe usb cables may be the most important in my system! I do have some suggestions.
For a mid priced system, do try the Hapa Ember. I really enjoyed this cable. It may have slight bass fullness, but that usually helps most systems.
In the next tier, I was, and still am blown away by the Hapa Aero. I know it's a lot of $, but I am guessing it's the last usb cable you will ever buy. WGH does a very nice mini review of this cable above my post.
My top tier is probably reserved for Lotto winners. I have tried only three in my system, so there are others I'm sure. The Shunyata Omega, the Gobel, and the Stage 3 usb. These are so darn good it makes you laugh out loud while listening! I'm blown away with both the sound and price! Happy listening!

WGH