D100 impressions? Remote for passive preamp?

sas

« on: 30 Mar 2005, 01:39 pm »
Hi,
I've been lurking in audio circles for a while, mainly because I have norh speakers. I've been thinking of changing my Marantz PM17 amp.... and came across the D100 monoblocks. Interesting, and I'm wondering if anyone has heard them or tried them? I'm fairly new to all this, and wonder if they would be a significant upgrade to the Marantz. I've also been looking at tubes, but seems that I'd need more efficient speakers (my norh's are 86db). I live on the other side of the world from the US so have little chance to audition anything....
The other question, just in case dusty is lurking, is whether it is possible to get one of the CIAudio passive preamps with a remote volume as a special order mod? (no flames please!)
thx, sas

Grover

D-100 Monoblocks
« Reply #1 on: 30 Mar 2005, 04:44 pm »

The photo is of a new model of the Pipedreams speakers introduced at the 2005 CES in Las Vegas.  The towers and sub columns retail for $16,000.
Notice the two small amplifiers in the center of the photo?  Look familiar?
Channel Islands D-100 monoblocks.  This was one of the most impressive displays I've ever listened to at any show.  It says a lot about the D-100 monoblocks that Nearfield would use them as part of the introduction of a new model of their speakers.  It looks like another amplifier was in use as well - see background behind right sub.  I didn't catch what this one was.  The sound was dynamic and absolutely no trace of glare or grit.   The components in this system really served the music and made me very excited about the D-100s.

sas

« Reply #2 on: 30 Mar 2005, 05:45 pm »
Hi grover,
Thanks for the photo -- it does certainly say alot about the D100's.