Wiring Crossovers

mresseguie

• SW1X DAC+ D Sachs 300b + Daedalus Apollos = Heaven
Wiring Crossovers
« on: 13 Jan 2022, 08:39 pm »
I'm beyond pulling <non existent> hair from my scalp in frustration over a speaker kit that I purchased a while back. The crossovers are pre-assembled. The wire connectors are a type I have no experience with. I get that one wire goes in the + socket and the other wire goes in the - socket. What I don't get is how to complete the *&^%$#@! circuit. I have tried it over and over and over and still get no music. How *&^%$#@! difficult can it be to complete the *&^%$#@! circuit?

I've assembled a GR Research speaker kit, a Meniscus Audio speaker kit, and a CSS-Audio speaker kit, so I'm not totally inexperienced. However, this particular kit has me in a rage.

Is there a YT video for idiots that shows me how to properly connect the wires to this kind of connector?

Photos:

mgalusha

Re: Wiring Crossovers
« Reply #1 on: 13 Jan 2022, 10:00 pm »
Use crimp ferrules, they make all the difference.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KE3CjZ0BUFo - good video and he demo's the various connection types, in particular to the type of terminals you are dealing with.

Kit from Amazon - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07PJK2VNT/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

timind

• permanent vacation
« Reply #2 on: 13 Jan 2022, 11:02 pm »
Don't you stick bare wire in slot on bottom and screw down to tighten? I can't see the top of the connector, but expect screws there.

jtwrace

• www.theintellectualpeoplepodcast.com
    • TIPP YouTube Channel
« Reply #3 on: 13 Jan 2022, 11:04 pm »
how to properly connect the wires to this kind of connector?

You are making sure that you loosen the screw far enough to spread the metal tangs, right?  In your picture it appears that they're pretty tight so the wire wouldn't be between them.  Loosen that screw on the terminal and make sure you're inserting the wire between the metal where it crimps down. 

richidoo