X-Statik Crossover Help

iteachsteam

X-Statik Crossover Help
« on: 19 Dec 2021, 02:44 pm »
Hello all,

I am a newbie here.  I just recently purchased 4 X-statics and an x-voce center.  Well, they needed some electrical attention and a blown tweeter replaced.  I know I need to replace some resistors on the x-overs that decided to call it a day!  (See pics)  The R2 on several of the x-statiks and x-voce failed.  Can anyone verify the value?  I'm guessing 5ohm 10/12 watt?  Should I replace the other resistors while I have  the x-overs out?  Also, any suggestions on places to purchase?

Thank you!

richidoo

Re: X-Statik Crossover Help
« Reply #1 on: 19 Dec 2021, 04:32 pm »
Resistors can handle a lot of heat without damage, even if the paint gets discolored from heat.  They are likely still OK but since you’re into it might as well replace anyway. If the PCB traces are also damaged then just run the new resistor lead to the connection where the burnt trace would have gone. You should be able to clean off the burnt coating to inspect and test the trace. The green resistors are metal oxide type which is the most common type in quality speakers and they sound good. But wirewound resistors may offer a little more resolution if your ears and electronics are up to it. I have heard improvement from green metal oxide resistors switching to Mills 12W wirewound non inductive resistors. If you change any resistor types make sure to replace them on both L and R side, especially on the main front LR.

The burnt resistors and PCB explain why the tweeter was blown. They didn’t decide to call it a day, they were murdered!  :lol: 12W is enough power rating for tweeters played within the speaker’s power rating.

mlundy57

• Industry Participant
« Reply #2 on: 19 Dec 2021, 05:42 pm »
You can get all the parts you need from Danny. You could also build new point-to-point crossovers with upgraded components while you are at it. That's what I'd recommend doing.

DannyBadorine