Bryston B60 and Dynaudio 52 SE

cipsideil

• http://www.autoshow.ro
« on: 18 Mar 2005, 02:09 pm »
Hello guys! Please excuse my english, since I'm romanian. I'm the owner of a set of Dynaudio Audience 52 SE. I have to opportunity to buy a Bryston B60 from 2003 with remote. Even if it's two years old it has not been used. I really don't know if is ST or SST. Do you thinck it will be a good match for my speakers? I use Van den Hull cables (Royal Jade). On the moment I don't have a decent CD player, but in the very next future I intent to buy one. Any suggestions regarding the CD player ?

jethro

« Reply #1 on: 19 Mar 2005, 11:58 pm »
cipsideil:

I have no experience with these two products, however, looking at their specifications, I would be inclined to say that the B60 is underpowered for the 52SEs at higher listening levels. At lower levels, you may be fine. Depending on what kind of deal you may be able to make, you might want to buy the B-60 and add a 3B-ST/SST or 4B-SST later and just use the B-60 as a pre-amp ?

If you get the B-60, you might want to get the DAC option installed (not sure how easy this to do in your location) and just buy a cheap DVD player rather than buying an expensive CD player (or you could wait to see if Bryston puts its prototype CD player  into production).

As far as B60 ST/SST goes, the following URL may help you:

http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=16030&highlight=b60

cipsideil

« Reply #2 on: 20 Mar 2005, 07:42 pm »
THX for your reply jethro. Regarding the power is no problem since my listening room is only 17 square meters (182 sqft - I hope that the conversion is correct). Now I'm using Dynaudios with a set of Cambridge Audio 640 A + 640 C. The amp is 65W/8Ohm and 100W/4Ohm and and is not necessary to drive it over half of its volume. The ideea is how much evident will be the improvement adding the Bryston B60 comparing with the Cambridge Audio? I don't have the opportunity to listen the Bryston before buying it

Thanks