NX Studio build - with copper veneer

Beerbellydad

NX Studio build - with copper veneer
« on: 28 Jun 2021, 03:09 pm »
Thanks to Jay and his awesome flat pack, I was able to complete my NX-Studio build this weekend. I've never done any project like this before and generally have lack-luster finishing skills so I kept my expectations low: just make it look like it's not homemade. :lol:

Gluing the box was super-simple. The pack is so well machined that it's kinda hard to screw this up provided you have several clamps

I don't have a spray booth but do have a yard and rattle cans. Shellacked the whole thing several times and sprayed the top, bottom, and front with several coats of Rustoleum high performance flat black. This stuff dried really fast and sanded very nicely so I was able to do several light coats in one day. Of course, lots of clear coats after that. I neglected to finish-sand because I really didn't mind the finish and didn't need a mirror polish. Also - lazy.

I had then chosen the speaker stands from Monoprice because they were inexpensive, and I could fill them with sand. However, the size the of the base concerned me so I chose to add T-nuts to the cabinets to allow me to securely bolt them to the stands.

Wrapped the sides with patinaed copper and with a roundover on the back-sides, the wrap is seamless. I used Gorilla Glue spray. The copper added a little cost, but the results are spicy. Here's a pro-tip for y'all who, like me, have never used a router before: mask finished surfaces and copper scratches easily.  :( Fortunately, these scratches look much worse in sunlight than they do in my basement, particularly after touching up much of the black with a quickly-wiped Sharpie.