7 Encore X-CS build questions

Lebo

7 Encore X-CS build questions
« on: 31 Dec 2020, 04:19 pm »
I am building a pair of left and right X-CS speakers and have a some basic questions I hope someone can answer.  A few may seem like duh questions but I am new to this and want to do it right.

1)Is it OK to mount the crossover vertically?   I assume the crossover should be mounted horizontally but is it OK to mount the crossover vertically if I decide to change the orientation of the speaker?  I am not sure if I am going to stand these up or lay them down as originally designed.    Right now I plan to lay the speakers down but I may move them to another room later where I will need to stand them up.  If I move them the crossover will be in a vertical position.  Hope that makes sense.

2) Is the crossover for the X-CS just like the X-LS?  I watched Danny's videos and they look the same to me.  My plan is to basically copy what Danny did.

3) What is the best way to run the wires from the crossover to the second woofer?  There are 2 woofers on the X-CS.  Do I run both woofer wires from the crossover assembly or is there another preferred method?

4) Do the "A" braces run the full depth of the speaker cabinet?  The "A" braces are the ones that brace the bottom and top to the sides.  I am asking because I noticed an X-CS build thread (if I am not mistaken) where they did not run the full length.  It looked like they were just about 3 inch wide braces.  Just want to clarify before I glue the cabinet together.  From what I can tell from the plans it looks like they are a full 14 or so  inches long.

5). Any problem finishing the inside of the cabinet?  These will be shop speakers in a non air conditioned space where humidity my get high certain times of the year.  My plan is to give the inside of the cabinets a light coat of shellac to seal the MDF.