New member intro

JBMeteo

New member intro
« on: 3 Nov 2020, 04:21 pm »
Good to be in the 'circle'. I suspect like many that I've been lured into the world of better sound recently, but have roots going way back. I just went down to the basement to get the name of the speaker that first had me say 'wow that's good' and it's the Marantz Imperial 6 I bought in 1973. Well I'm retired now and really enjoying my baby steps back into great sound, the vagaries of ARC, Dirac, and REW since I'm a scientist after all, and enjoying remastered high definition audio of classic, progressive and jazz music as well as home theater.

FullRangeMan

• Facilitator
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: New member intro
« Reply #1 on: 4 Nov 2020, 04:30 am »
Welcome  :thumb:

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #2 on: 4 Nov 2020, 02:26 pm »
Welcome!

Love resurrecting audio dinosaurs and introducing them to 21st century audio.  (I'm a retired engineer and have been around audio for most of the past 50 years.)

You missed the teething pains of CD's and class D amplifiers, the death/rebound of tubes and vinyl, and the transition of sound from regional/national tastes to more of a worldwide uniformity (not un-similar to all the mom and pop restaurants being replaced by chains). 

You might like audiosciencereview.com and reading Floyd Toole's "Sound Reproduction".

ArthurDent

• Don't Panic / Mostly Harmless
« Reply #3 on: 4 Nov 2020, 03:42 pm »
Greetings & Welcome to AC JB   :thumb:

JBMeteo

« Reply #4 on: 4 Nov 2020, 07:41 pm »
Thanks JLM will look into it. As you may have guessed from my user name, I'm a retired meteorologist. My specialty was remote sensing and using those instruments, mostly space based.

JBMeteo

New member intro 2 - Sound in meteorology
« Reply #5 on: 4 Nov 2020, 07:51 pm »