Newbie seeking computer advice

Tonto Yoder

« on: 4 Mar 2005, 12:34 pm »
Ok, I'm not really a total newbie, but I've had my computer a number of years and am ignorant of what is currently available. I probably knew the details of my current Cybermax computer when I bought it, but I've forgotten most everything except it's a Celeron processor@ 800 Mhz???

I'd like to just call Dell and order package #4, but I imagine there are better alternatives?? Any advice would be appreciated (other than "Build your own" [which is probably a good idea, but not for me]).

One specific question: when I bought my old computer, it was common that "$2,546 of software" was included for "free". Much of it was totally worthless but it made for good marketing. It seems now that JUST the operating system is preloaded (Dell seems to have sold its soul to Windows XP)???? I would kinda like to try a Linux system (having dabbled with a CD-based OS ---Knoppix--that ran off the CD, but never actually loaded onto the computer).

As you might expect, I'd like a good-sounding system: good sound card and good speakers (two channel is fine).  But is it best to buy the packaged sound system or just use audio gear I already have???

Thanks for any help.

Brad

« Reply #1 on: 4 Mar 2005, 03:00 pm »
Check out www.techbargains.com

They have a nice Dell 8400 right now - about $1600 including a 24" widescreen LCD.  

If you want to do audio with it, I would add a better soundcard on your own - don't pay them extra for their 'better' card.

There's a lot of nice things going on in the Apple world right now too.
You can get an iMac G5 for about the same money.  OSX is great to work with.

Depends on which evil corporation you want to send your money too... :wink:

Carlman

« Reply #2 on: 4 Mar 2005, 03:07 pm »
TY,
I've bought some desktop PC's for small offices and home users over the past year or so and I've found Dell and HP to be quite reliable and (somewhat) helpful over the phone for the end users.