intro - modestly stereophile

jedgar

intro - modestly stereophile
« on: 20 Jul 2020, 03:30 pm »
I've been listening carefully for 45 years and in the past 4 or so have a setup that is really pleasing to me and

Tannoy DC 4000 speakers
Van Alstine Synergy 240
Parasound HP 850 preamp
Thorens TD126 MKIII
Dynavector cart
Arcam CD 72
Sony 5150 tuner
low end interconnects and zip cord speaker connects . An Oppo dvd/cd player to test HD discs against Arcam.
All bought used except for Van Alstine, Dynavector and Sony .

Biggest improvement came when I moved to our current home where the center room on 2nd floor of the bungalow
is 25 l x 17 w x 8 h with ceiling sloped to 6 feet along the length of the room.  (Sloped ceiling geometry similar to that designed & reported by a columnist with Stereophile[?]) Wood floor with a small area rug. 

jedgar

modest;y stereophile
« Reply #1 on: 20 Jul 2020, 03:36 pm »

Decor up here

jedgar

A Place, A Sound, An Appreciation
« Reply #2 on: 20 Jul 2020, 03:50 pm »
In addition to listening, I also wrtie up my "appreciations" of musical experiences.   Sample:

A Place,  A Sound, An Appreciation

Thursday, returning home from Khyber Pass Cafe and three pieces performed by Trever Hagen (trumpet),
 Miguel Hurtado (drums), Brandon Wozniak (tenor sax) and James Buckley (bass), I sought to extend the
vibe. 

I succeeded with the help of Coltrane; it is amazing how contemporary A Love Supreme remains 54 years on. 

The Khyber Pass in St. Paul is a jazz club once a week; owner Emel Sherzad leaves the door open and
lights on after closing time most Thursdays and invites a series of experimental jazz performers and fans
in for something nearly as intimate as performances in a living room.  The place lacks a stage and
commercial taint ---  it is filled with a presence of invention. 

Hagen sat cross-legged on the floor, adding quiet touches to the rocking aggressive and complicated