New to the site

alwynlarryv

New to the site
« on: 11 May 2020, 11:12 pm »
Hello, I'm Alwynlarryv.  I have been an audiophile for 60 years.  How is that possible?  I was 13 when I caught the disease, and I'm now 73.

FullRangeMan

• Facilitator
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: New to the site
« Reply #1 on: 11 May 2020, 11:23 pm »
Welcome Mr.Alwyn  :thumb:

Wind Chaser

« Reply #2 on: 11 May 2020, 11:24 pm »
Welcome to Audio Circle.  :D

This disease don’t need no cure.  :green:

Phil A

« Reply #3 on: 11 May 2020, 11:38 pm »
Welcome!

ArthurDent

• Don't Panic / Mostly Harmless
« Reply #4 on: 12 May 2020, 12:17 am »
Greetings & Welcome to AC Larry   :thumb:

alwynlarryv

New To The Site, But Gosh Darn It, Third Post
« Reply #5 on: 12 May 2020, 12:20 am »
I have had two transformative moments in Hi Fi.  The first occurred when I was a freshman in college.  I walked into a" big time" hi fi store in Pasadena CA, and heard a pair of KHL 9s.  Wow!  I understand that electrostatics have a few issues, but based on the arrangement of my taste buds nothing else sounds quite as good.  I would have a pair of Sound Lab 1As if it were not for "wifely" blocking action.  And my second moment?  For almost 20 years I was an investment "croupier" (a stock broker).  I had a super client who owned a high end store in San Mateo Ca.  I made him lots of money, and of course he expressed his gratitude by paying commissions, but from time to time he would give me small gifts.  So one day he gave a  record; it was "The Missing Link," by Lincoln Myorca, on  Sheffield Labs label. The moment a dropped the styles in the groove I understood that most of the recordings I prized were in fact crap and that a big part of the Hi Fi experience was going to be finding quality recordings. 

FullRangeMan

• Facilitator