Audio files over Ethernet cables ZERO change

audiogurujax

Audio files over Ethernet cables ZERO change
« on: 24 Apr 2020, 01:27 am »
Hi everyone, First let me start by saying, I am an electrical engineer and a sometimes not very logical audiophile, only because I love this hobby and I am an OCD buyer LOL. So, I want to believe that changing Ethernet cables or high-end routers improves music, Even without believing I have 2 WireWorld Platinum Starlight  and 1 Starlight Ethernet Cable so please don't reply like I am one of those who think everything is snake oil!  :wink:

Ok Now that I already introduced myself, I made a small test, Even tho I knew the results before I did it since is basic knowledge of network topology, I transferred 3 songs from my NAS using a cheapo old 100 mbs switch and a brand new STOM switch I did this with 2 WireWorld Platinum Starlight 2M long Ethernet cables on the STOM switch and with 2 50ft long Home Depot Cat5e cable with the old switch, I  used wireshark and tcpdump to analyze the packets and I also performed a Bit Error Rate Test with a Viavi 5800. Results all 3 files transferred perfectly on both test scenarios the files sent and received where 100% Identical bit to bit, Ethernet is a protocol designed to handle and transfer gigabits of information back and forward thousands of times. You can have an image or a music file transferred 10 thousand times across the globe (downloaded, uploaded, shared, etc.) and unless something bad happen the file at the end will be bit to bit identical to the original. bottom If I start playing a song from my server to my Streamer with line a Basic Belkin 2m long Cat6 cable or my 2m long WireWorld Platinum Starlight and I analyze real-time what my DAC is getting with a Viavi 5800 there will be absolutely no difference.