Building a Folsom EC7293

vilding

• Musician. Audiophile on a budget.
Building a Folsom EC7293
« on: 7 Apr 2020, 11:02 am »
So this is my first amplifier build, and by far, my biggest endeavour into electronics. Although a little nervous, I have really high hopes.
Right now it's pretty much a waiting game though, since the Covid-19-situation delays shipping of my transformers. But it gives me time to familiarize myself with the task at hand. :)

The Folsom Error Correcting 7293 stereo amplifier comes as a set of unpopulated boards. The amp boards are in mono so two are required. I opted for a dual mono construction and ordered two amp boards and two Dualpole PSU-boards. The boards are really neat and easy to figure out for a complete noob as me. They have plenty of room for everything so mounting and soldering will be a breeze. It also uses a PVI power supply for the input. Here is a link to the DIYAudio gb: https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/group-buys/338275-folsom-ec7293-pvi-powered-frontend-60-120w-8-4ohm.html

I went with a Modu Dissipante 2U chassi for the build. It's a really nicely designed and sturdy chassi with really big wavy heatsinks as sides. The front is nicely machined aluminium aand supports rack mounting if you want that. Although, it seems like it's gonna be a bit of a squeeze height wise, so I've decided to simply raise it a little by making a frame of black painted wood that goes around the bottom of the case. Some dry fitting suggests it will look kinda cool with the heatsinks and front plate a little bit suspended.