AR XB1 help needed

Mikelee1951

AR XB1 help needed
« on: 6 Apr 2020, 04:36 am »
Gidday from Oz guys, As a newbie I need some advice and let me say in advance my tech ability is only marginally better than Homer Simpson's...

I've read some of the site's posts already and feel this is where i need to be to get the right answers relating to AR turntables.

I recently purchased an AR XB1 turntable to go old school and listen to my old vinyl collection. I chose the AR having previously owned one in the eighties and loved their simplicity..I'm waiting on some parts (belt, talc, Grado black cart, new head shell and silicone damping fluid) to do a basic overhaul based on a very good video demonstrating how to replace the belt, clean and lube the platter spindle and sleeve as well as the arm pivot and sleeve.

My questions are as follows.
1. The cueing mechanism doesn't work, apart from a millimetre or so. I've ordered the damping fluid anticipating this will be needed but would welcome your advice on how to go about the repair.
2. I have the original head shell with a Shure 70 EJ cartridge. Because i don't know how old the cart and stylus are and original parts are not available i thought the Grado Black would represent better value than simply replacing the stylus. When attaching the Grado to the new head shell what do i need to do regarding overhang and how do i measure it. Bear in mind my lack of tech knowledge when explaining the process.

Looking forward to whatever assistance you might be able to offer. 

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: AR XB1 help needed
« Reply #1 on: 6 Apr 2020, 09:15 am »
Welcome Mike  :thumb:
I will transfer your topic to the Vinyl Circle as I not able to address your questions.

Phil A

« Reply #2 on: 6 Apr 2020, 12:54 pm »
Welcome!

Wind Chaser

« Reply #3 on: 6 Apr 2020, 03:07 pm »