Hello From Ireland

StandardModel

Hello From Ireland
« on: 21 Mar 2020, 10:53 am »
I'm a retired Electrical Engineer- Patent Attorney. Because of my background, i love electronics of all kinds. I started out building crystal radios, went on to become a ham radio operator at twelve and then found Heathkits and progressed from there. I'm hooked on audio!
These days I spend half time in Ireland.
I'm looking for an audio project to build. Class D amplifiers look doable but I read that they are somewhat brittle sounding.  Tubes always had a nice warm sound (read distortion).

FullRangeMan

• Facilitator
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: Hello From Ireland
« Reply #1 on: 21 Mar 2020, 11:01 am »
Welcome :thumb:

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #2 on: 21 Mar 2020, 11:35 am »
Welcome!

Try to audition various amps.  Personally I don't want everything to sound the same (brittle or warm).  Class D has progressed greatly in a short time.  I've owned 3 Class D and each better than it's predecessor.  Also recommend:

- Focusing on the room, read Floyd Toole's "Sound Reproduction" 3rd edition which is the consummate audiophile primer to learn how speakers behave in-room.  His theories will push you towards use of carefully placed multiple subs.

- Next priority should be speakers.  In that regard highly suggest active designs for their superior design premises and sonics (dynamics, flat frequency response, imaging, and deep/full bass).  Another very modern design aspect is controlled directivity.  But avoid "digital" active designs that include a DAC (locking you into a typically mediocre DAC).

Phil A

« Reply #3 on: 21 Mar 2020, 01:49 pm »
Welcome to AC!

Wind Chaser

« Reply #4 on: 21 Mar 2020, 02:46 pm »