Yorkville U15

bdepasse

Yorkville U15
« on: 22 Feb 2020, 06:45 pm »
Russel Dawkins in a related post stated "This is an interesting topic - whether a pro PA speaker can be domesticated. I was wondering the same just recently after doing a little research into the field."

I consider myself an audiophile but unlike most, I believe it's impossible to be one without understanding how music is recorded. Yes, I am also a recording engineer. In my experience, unless you have this understanding and experience of how sound is recorded, mixed and mastered, you are at a complete loss of proper vocabulary to even describe what you are actually hearing. The intention of recording is to capture the perfect performance so that you, the listener, have the opportunity to play it back in as close as possible, level, dynamics and spacial cues to feel like you are there - within the limits of course of recording -and there are serious limits. For example, unless someone is using a stereo mic or an X/Y mic technique to create separation like you ears ear, you are in most cases listening to panned mono. More on that in later posts.

That being said, In all of my years of listening to everything from Genelec, Dynaudio, Yamaha NS, KEF, Focal, Bowers & Wilkins, JBL, Polk, etc… you name it, I've heard it - On all types of combinations of amplifiers from Mark Levinson to Adcom, McIntosh to Rotel and everything in between.

The Yorkville U15s are the most amazing set of speakers I've heard. Clean, Dynamic, Accurate, and Alive. They need a sub since their natural roll-off is around 50hz. I use JBL 4641 subs. Hands down best sub for the money at 3 times the price. Yes they are ported, but all you sealed guys like to pontificate about theories and parameters that, if you have the right amplifier, never show up in listening.