AKSA Phono Pre

Oz_Audio

AKSA Phono Pre
« on: 14 Mar 2003, 09:27 pm »
I have been listening to Hugh's Phono Pre for about 2 months.

This will be part 1 of a may unprofessional review .  Part 2 will be when I get the new cartridge installed.

Presently my turntable is a 1987 vintage Linn LP12, Valhala power supply, Ittok LVII arm and a very cheap Tandy (Radio Shack) MM cartridge.  My Linn Karma stopped playing a number of years ago and I do not have 500 UK pounds to fix it.

The phono pre is in a separate metal box with flying leads from the GK1 for power.  No hum.

When CD first appreared in the 80's, Vinyl killed it in all areas of sound quality.  In the last few years, CD have caught up especially in imageing, height and depth and my preference has been to listen to CD's.

I have never heard height before from LP listening until I built Hugh's Phono pre.  Now I have all the CD qualities in spades, plus the natural analouge sound as well.  Simply sensational.

Records that I have listen to over this period are:

Rolling Stones - Undercover.  One of the drums used on the title track is a piece of thin metal plate.  I can distinctly hear the metal resonance as it is hit.  On all other systems, this has sounded like just another drum! There is also a sequence of drum echos on this track.  The echos disapear into the distance behind the wall.

Roxy Music - Avalon.  This album is very well recorded and has always sounded good.  The title track is very emotional and hearing it on a sound stage that is wider than my walls, as high as the roof and as far back as the front road is moving.  The deepest bass I have heard from vinyl and the female backup singings standing 6 feet behind Bryan Ferry.

Lou Reed - Rock and Roll Animal.  One of the best live albums recorded. ( I must have had a really mis-spent youth!).  Live electric guitar in my living room, what more can I say, real foot tapping stuff!