JVC F10+JVC Speakers opinions

dwn4crwn

« on: 4 Feb 2005, 02:31 pm »
Hi all...

I'm a total newb to the world of audio and would appreciate some help.  I found this site a few days ago and have been reading chairman's thread on the F10.  I think it sounds like a great reciever to go along with my dvd player.

Anyhow, I was offered a $650 JVC speaker system (the SX XD33 speakers and SX DW303 subwoofer) for $300 and would have to buy the F10 separately for roughly $250.  Total would be roughly $550.  The reason for the cheap speakers was they were being sold separately from the receiver.

The speakers and subwoofers are from last year i believe.  The speakers seem to have the same specs as the newer sx-xd55 speakers and the sub woofer I like mostly because it has a wood finish and would match my furniture.  It also seems to have similar specs to the sp-dwf10.

The store manager told me that the JVC speakers were comparable with Bose speakers, but I couldn't hear the JVC ones since they were not hooked up at the time.

The system is for my living room wich is 20x15 feet.  I really dont want to spend to much cash and felt this setup might be alright.  If there are reccomendations for better speakers, i might be willing to shed more cash.

any thoughts?  Is there a 6 speaker system or other systems with a comparable price\deal?

thanks in advance for any help.

MonkeyK

Re: JVC F10+JVC Speakers opinions
« Reply #1 on: 4 Feb 2005, 03:08 pm »
Quote from: dwn4crwn

The store manager told me that the JVC speakers were comparable with Bose speakers, but I couldn't hear the JVC ones since they were not hooked up at the time.

The store manager wasn't willing to swap some speakers for you?  IMO either the store manager is lazy, or does not want you to see the whole picture.

kck

« Reply #2 on: 25 Mar 2005, 05:17 pm »