Dac 10/sta 9 mono

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 520 times.

nac

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 17
Dac 10/sta 9 mono
« on: 8 Aug 2019, 06:48 pm »
Hi all,I hav a dac 10 and 2 eta 9 in mono connected via balanced interconnects,can the rca outs on the dac 10 be used for the subwoofer  at same time?

JackD

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1025
Re: Dac 10/sta 9 mono
« Reply #1 on: 8 Aug 2019, 07:06 pm »
Yes, I've been doing it for almost three years.

nac

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 17
Re: Dac 10/sta 9 mono
« Reply #2 on: 8 Aug 2019, 08:30 pm »
Great Jackd,any particular way it needs to be hooked up because of the weird way the mono blocks are setup?

nac

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 17
Re: Dac 10/sta 9 mono
« Reply #3 on: 10 Aug 2019, 08:54 am »
I have a loud hum when using rca out from dac10 to sub when my sta 9 are used in mono mode with balanced xlr cables, any help out there?

JackD

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1025
Re: Dac 10/sta 9 mono
« Reply #4 on: 10 Aug 2019, 02:35 pm »
I'm using the ST-10 or any one of several other stereo amps.  Whether or not putting the ST-9 into bridged mode causes an issue I don't know. Balanced to the amps and SE to the subs.

nac

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 17
Re: Dac 10/sta 9 mono
« Reply #5 on: 10 Aug 2019, 10:09 pm »
cheers Jackd,hopefuuly someone can shed a light on the problem if there is one,might be just me

rustydoglim

Re: Dac 10/sta 9 mono
« Reply #6 on: 11 Aug 2019, 12:35 am »
Some sort of ground loop. You should use the Help Desk so that the case can be assigned to support staff.
If sub is disconnected, is there any hum? Try to use a "cheater plug" on the powered sub to cut off the groun loop.

John Casler

Re: Dac 10/sta 9 mono
« Reply #7 on: 11 Aug 2019, 05:51 pm »
I have a loud hum when using rca out from dac10 to sub when my sta 9 are used in mono mode with balanced xlr cables, any help out there?

You might try simply running an additional RCA cable from the STA-9 to the DAC-10 and see if that helps.

This is an additional cable.

Just keep your system hooked up as now, and run that RCA cable to the RCA analog in.  Might take only one, or maybe from both STA-9s

Do not change "any" switches or settings.

And before doing this, make absolutely sure you have the speaker cables set up EXACTLY as the diagram designates.

nac

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 17
Re: Dac 10/sta 9 mono
« Reply #8 on: 11 Aug 2019, 06:59 pm »
Cheers,
So I run a rca from Dac 10 rca in to sta 9 rca in ?

John Casler

Re: Dac 10/sta 9 mono
« Reply #9 on: 11 Aug 2019, 07:05 pm »
Cheers,
So I run a rca from Dac 10 rca in to sta 9 rca in ?

Yes, Can't guarantee it will work, but I seem to remember this happening a long time ago on one STA-9 in a bridged pair, and it fixed the problem.

I assume it either makes a ground, or strengthens it.

If that doesn't work, then a support ticket needs to be filed.

nac

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 17
Re: Dac 10/sta 9 mono
« Reply #10 on: 11 Aug 2019, 07:10 pm »
ok Cheers John ,Ill give it a go now

nac

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 17
Re: Dac 10/sta 9 mono
« Reply #11 on: 11 Aug 2019, 07:55 pm »
cheers John,
                  all up and running now,required 2 RCA"s

thanks everyone

John Casler

Re: Dac 10/sta 9 mono
« Reply #12 on: 11 Aug 2019, 09:10 pm »
 :thumb:

Not sure why that works, but it might be a weak ground on one of the XLR cables.

But in any event, glad it solved the issue.

rustydoglim

Re: Dac 10/sta 9 mono
« Reply #13 on: 12 Aug 2019, 09:05 pm »
Amazing solution.