Do they make DAC's without volume control and headphone amp?

Kingbleu

Newbie here on AudioCircle.  I'm looking for a DAC that has XLR balanced connections.  I don't want a headphone amp, I don't want a volume control.  These are extra features that I don't need and won't use, so I don't want to spend extra money on them.  Furthermore all those extra circuits in the audio chain will only interfere with what we are all looking for, a pure unmolested audio signal "audio nirvana".

So believe it or not I cant seem to find a stand alone DAC with XLR and no volume control and no headphone amp.  I am here seeking advice, picking your brains and waiting patiently to be schooled in the DAC world.  My limited sources are the big box stores HI FI magazines like Audio Advisor and the others.  Lead me to the off brands and the stuff that is overlooked.  Im not looking for trendy but more for a good deal and since I don't need all the bells and whistles I was hoping to get something that could hold its own and not cost a arm and a leg.  I know all you guys are gonna tell me to get the DAC that is three times out of my price range but thats ok. It's a starting point and if your curious my price range is under $400

Thanks

FullRangeMan

• Facilitator
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: Do they make DAC's without volume control and headphone amp?
« Reply #1 on: 28 Jan 2019, 11:18 am »
Welcome Kingbleu :thumb:

timind

• permanent vacation
« Reply #2 on: 28 Jan 2019, 12:44 pm »
At your price point, the best option is used. And the best option on the used market in that range is the PS Audio DL III, or its replacement, the Nuwave dac.

And welcome to AudioCircle.

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #3 on: 28 Jan 2019, 01:16 pm »