Plitron Transformer Wiring

Carlman

« on: 11 Mar 2003, 02:25 pm »
I'm at my wits end figuring out how my transformers work.  I have 2 Plitron 300VA 33-0-33.  I have a TYPE 7 primary...
I have gotten advice from Plitron and Hugh but, both differ somewhat from the label on the actual transformer.

I'm getting odd voltage readings and I don't want to destroy anything.  Nothing is connected to the PCB's yet.  I'm just trying to get the wiring right.  I've searched Harmonic Discord, and tried very hard to understand what goes where but, I keep ending up frustrated.  I'd post my readings but, my internet connection went down last night and I forgot to grab them this morning on the way to work.  All I can remember is that I kept getting 37.5VAC from Red to yellow secondary wires.

If anyone has installed a Plitron transformer in their AKSA 100, please provide how you wired:
Switch to Primaries
Secondaries to AC1 and AC2

I greatly appreciate your help.  I'm not an electrician, nor do I play one on TV...  nor will I attempt to until I've learned more about electronics!

Carlman

This was answered a month ago... doh!
« Reply #1 on: 11 Mar 2003, 02:42 pm »
I just found THIS thread....
The way it is explained is exactly how I had it wired (primaries and secondaries) but, when I connected blue and yellow together, it  blew the mains fuse.  I'll look into it again when I get home tonight.
hmmmmmm.

Maybe the switch is wired wrong.  more double checking...

PSP

« Reply #2 on: 11 Mar 2003, 10:57 pm »
Carlman,