Tube question- Modwright 9000ES

tnewell

« on: 22 Dec 2004, 05:38 pm »
I am relatively new to tubes. Last week I purchased a pair of Amperex 7119 PQ NOS Tubes for my Modwright Sony 9000ES SACD player. Today when I fired it up I noticed a very loud "rushing" sound coming from the left channel. Normally, I have to put my ear up to the speakers to hear a very faint sound. I pulled the Amperex out and replaced them with the stock Tung Sol tubes and the sound was gone.

Is this a typical indication of a bad tube??

Thanks!

Tom

Russtafarian

• Typical reaction to the music I play
« Reply #1 on: 22 Dec 2004, 06:25 pm »
Tom,

Try the 7119s again and play something other than a Rush CD. :)

When can you come by and check out the tubefied russtafarian room?

Vikings - Packers: Christmas Eve in Favre's personal house of horrors.  Without a healthy Ahman Green, I don't think you'll be feeling much holiday cheer.

Russ

tnewell

« Reply #2 on: 22 Dec 2004, 06:46 pm »
Hey Russ,

Are you working on next Thursday 12/30?  I have that day off.

I had ordered a backup pair of 7119s that will be arriving today.  These tubes took the sound up another notch.  I ordered them from Upscale Audio.  
I could hear the sound right away when I walked into the room.  Very loud rushing sound like water running coming from left channel only.

Hopefully Upscale will let me exchange the tube.

Tom

Levi

« Reply #3 on: 22 Dec 2004, 06:56 pm »
Try switching tubes from L-R.
Quote from: tnewell
Hey Russ,

Are you working on next Thursday 12/30?  I have that day off.

I had ordered a backup pair of 7119s that will be arriving today.  These tubes took the sound up another notch.  I ordered them from Upscale Audio.  
I could hear the sound right away when I walked into the room.  Very loud rushing sound like water running coming from left channel only.

Hopefully Upscale will let me exchange the tube.

Tom

ted_b

• Volunteer
  • "we're all bozos on this bus" F.T.
« Reply #4 on: 22 Dec 2004, 06:57 pm »