EAC/ Foobar techy question

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 3860 times.

JoshK

EAC/ Foobar techy question
« on: 9 Dec 2004, 02:59 pm »
Does anyone know if EAC and Foobar can be run on the command line?  I.e. run from a DOS command?

There are a lot of programs that do.  I am not a complete computer geek but I know how to write simple dos batch programs and was thinking of making a quick easy way to rip and compress CDs onto the PC.  

Here's the idea...
Let's say you are putting a lot of CD's onto your computer and want to store them in FLAC or other compressed format.  This can be very time consuming!  However there is bound to be an easier way.  I mean most of the time is sitting waiting for the next prompt just to enter the same thing you did a hundred times before.  This is where DOS batch programs work great.  

With a DOS batch you typically write a bunch of command lines in a text editor and save it as a batch file.  The command lines tells DOS what programs to run and what options to pass to the program.   You then can run more than one program in this batch as well and do a number of windows utilities here is an idea of what we'd want to do in this case.

let's assume our CDrom is drive D: and our music all gets put on a dedicated drive or partition, let's call it M:.  I like to make a few utility directories to make this process real clean, let's make \rip\, \unsorted flac\, \unsorted mp3\.

Then my batch would do the following..

step 1: rip .wav's from the D: drive using EAC with predefined settings and place into \rip\.
step 2: take all .wav's in \rip\ and compress to FLAC and predined settings using Foobar, .flac files go in \unsorted flac\
step 2.5:  del m:\rip\*.wav   --clean up
step 3: take all .flac files in \unsorted flac\ and compress to mp3 (predef settings) for portable player and place in \unsorted mp3\

Now when the batch file is written you can place a shortcut on your desktop to run the batch file using the DOS prompt.  So when you want to rip a CD all you do is plop in the tray, close the door and hit the batch job.  When it is done you take the CD out, put another in and repeat.   You can even write a little code at the end to make a sound or open the CD rom tray when done so you'll know when to change CDs.   This is a lot less headache and what I intend to look into when I rip the rest of my collection ot drives.

Hantra

EAC/ Foobar techy question
« Reply #1 on: 9 Dec 2004, 04:32 pm »
Brilliant!  

I've been in IT almost 10 years, and to be honest, I hadn't thought of doing that.   :lol:

It's because I leave all that at work.  I am an idiot when I get home.  That way people won't call me for support. . LOL!

Seriously though I am going to do some searching.  Have you checked over at hydrogenaudio.org for anything?

JoshK

EAC/ Foobar techy question
« Reply #2 on: 9 Dec 2004, 04:39 pm »
No, to be honest, I just thought of it.   I was editing a batch file for PDF'ing documents automatically here at work and it dawned on me.

JoshK

EAC/ Foobar techy question
« Reply #3 on: 9 Dec 2004, 04:50 pm »
Quote from: Hantra
Brilliant!  

I've been in IT almost 10 years, and to be honest, I hadn't thought of doing that.   :lol:


You'd be amazed at what I can think up so it means that I can be more lazy!  :lol:

vpolineni

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 509
EAC/ Foobar techy question
« Reply #4 on: 9 Dec 2004, 05:27 pm »
reminds me of the guiness commericals-BRILLIANT!.
seriously though josh, that really is a smart idea... i'm not sure if those programs can be run from dos.. i'll look into it as well... let us know if you find anytihng.

JoshK

EAC/ Foobar techy question
« Reply #5 on: 9 Dec 2004, 06:21 pm »
Noticed someone mentioned AutoIt on the EAC forum.  Here is their site.

http://www.autoitscript.com/

BSteinmetz

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
    • http://www.morepsi.com
EAC/ Foobar techy question
« Reply #6 on: 14 Dec 2004, 05:15 pm »
This can all be done with EAC and http://mareo.monkeydev.org/. MAREO does all of the things you want your batch file to do and much more. It will encode in just about every format out there, even simultaneoudly encode each WAV file into multiple formats. Want to Replaygain/MP3Gain your files as you create them? MAREO can do that. Want your FLAC and MP3 files in different folders? MAREO does that too. Configuration is a simple text file and examples are included. With this combo your ripping process will be something like:

Code: [Select]
1. Insert your CD.
2. Press the MP3 button in EAC.
3. Sit back.


Several minutes later you will have exactly what you're looking for in an extremely flexible package should you change your mind later. EAC can also be setup to eject the CD and play a sound at completion. It really can't get much simpler.

Brian

JoshK

EAC/ Foobar techy question
« Reply #7 on: 14 Dec 2004, 05:43 pm »
Thanks Brian!!! much appreciated.  Exactly what I was looking for, couldn't imagine that someone else hadn't thought of it already.  My approach was archaic, this looks slick.

BSteinmetz

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
    • http://www.morepsi.com
EAC/ Foobar techy question
« Reply #8 on: 15 Dec 2004, 04:17 pm »
Glad I could be of help. Note that MAREO also works as a Diskwriter plugin for Foobar should you want to do a mass conversion of files you have already ripped.

Brian

Hantra

EAC/ Foobar techy question
« Reply #9 on: 15 Dec 2004, 08:25 pm »
Quote from: BSteinmetz
Glad I could be of help. Note that MAREO also works as a Diskwriter plugin for Foobar should you want to do a mass conversion of files you have already ripped.

Brian


Awesome!  

Thanks Brian!!!

B