Had time to kill - listened to some hp's

charmerci

Had time to kill - listened to some hp's
« on: 9 Jan 2017, 04:28 pm »
This post will show why I'm not good at audio reviews.  8)

I was in the Chicago airport waiting several hours for my connection when I noticed an InMotion store selling headphones. The nice, pretty knowledgeable, young man encouraged me to listen to anything that they sell even if I wasn't buying.

At first I listened to the B&O H8 Bluetooth hp's, plugged into their machine. Listened to MJ's Thriller as it was the only music I was familiar with. The highs were high and the lows were low. As far as I could tell they were nice but for the money, you could do better.

I never spend more than $100 on hp's but my tastes go beyond that. Over the years, I've grown to really like the Grado sound. I use the old Grado in-ear IGI which I feel is pretty balanced and has a good midrange.

I had my FIIO player to plug into and listened to the Senn. Momentum $99 in ear. Basically, very dull. Didn't like 'em. Then he suggested this new company called RHA. So I listened the the $125 MA750, decent highs and good lows but I wasn't thrilled with the midrange - a bit recessed.

He wanted me to try more expensive ones but by then I wanted to keep it in more my price range. (Though in thinking about it now, I should have tried super-expensive ones. Finally, I tried the Shure SE315's which were $200 whose midrange was better but in putting on my Grados afterward, I was happier with them. A very balanced presentation, nice midrange and smoother sound.

He said he was spoiled by listening to some $850 headphones which I now can't recall.

Geez, there are an infinite number of headphone models out there!!!  :o

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.
Re: Had time to kill - listened to some hp's
« Reply #1 on: 9 Jan 2017, 04:41 pm »