BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 83943 times.

gbaby

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 180
Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #380 on: 3 Jan 2018, 02:45 pm »
I might have found the problem, at least I hope so.
Changed the ethernet cable to the one I use for Appletv, this wire is not connected directly to the router, but via a switch. I also changed the USB cable from an Oyade I just bought to Nordost Blue Heaven. Maybe the ethernet cable or the USB cable was faulty, because now it has played nonstop for 4 hours straight.
Looks like Bryston was not to blame after all :duh:
Been frustrating troubleshooting, but now sweet music is again restored in my main system :thumb:

Chris asked me to send you a bill for $1,500.00 for his time.  :lol:

Xinon

Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #381 on: 3 Jan 2018, 04:25 pm »
Chris asked me to send you a bill for $1,500.00 for his time.  :lol:

Good I didn't have to send it in then :o
 :lol: :lol:

gbaby

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 180
Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #382 on: 4 Jan 2018, 01:59 am »
Good I didn't have to send it in then :o
 :lol: :lol:

I have already wasted the company's time, probably more than once.  :oops:

Xinon

Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #383 on: 4 Jan 2018, 09:07 pm »
I have already wasted the company's time, probably more than once.  :oops:
Me too, James should have a medal for his patience :thumb:
Not many CO would do what he does on this forum, thats one of the reasons we love Bryston.
Happy to report that BDP3 and BDA3 have played flawlessly since I changed the cables, who says cables doesn't matter :lol:

Xinon

Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #384 on: 5 Jan 2018, 10:27 am »
Looks like I was quick to believe trouble was over :?
Today same problem, but now I can't even choose USB in service menu.
USB light is green on BDA3, but not "lock" light, and of course no sound.



Xinon

Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #385 on: 5 Jan 2018, 08:30 pm »
Hooked BDP3 up in my other room to McIntosh C2600, here I can use USB again.
Maybe problem is BDA3?? I try to upgrade firmware this weekend.




unincognito

  • Industry Participant
  • Posts: 1667
    • bryston.com
Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #386 on: 5 Jan 2018, 08:46 pm »
Hooked BDP3 up in my other room to McIntosh C2600, here I can use USB again.
Maybe problem is BDA3?? I try to upgrade firmware this weekend.




Have you tried just power cycling the BDA-3? also the BDA-3 has multiple USB inputs and the BDP won't see it if the BDA isn't on the correct USB input.  Is it a BDP-Pi?  The BDP-Pi needs to be rebooted to see a USB DAC.

Chris

Xinon

Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #387 on: 5 Jan 2018, 09:09 pm »
Have you tried just power cycling the BDA-3? also the BDA-3 has multiple USB inputs and the BDP won't see it if the BDA isn't on the correct USB input.  Is it a BDP-Pi?  The BDP-Pi needs to be rebooted to see a USB DAC.

Chris

I have BDP3 and BDA3, and have had some problems lately with dropouts in ROON mode.
Small static pop and no sound when using USB.
If you read my earlier posts I try to explain what is happening.

Pundamilia

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 144
Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #388 on: 6 Jan 2018, 01:21 am »
@Chris:

Quote
also the BDA-3 has multiple USB inputs and the BDP won't see it if the BDA isn't on the correct USB input.

Is there a preferred USB input on the BDA (to connect from the BDP) or are you referring to the selection of the switch/button on the front?

Xinon

Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #389 on: 6 Jan 2018, 11:08 am »
So, take away power on both BDA3 and BDP3, hook together and power up.
Play music for about 1hour, small static pop and no music, did not skip song just playing from playlist!
Everything still looks normal in BDP3, but no sound, what do I try next?






James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 16917
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #390 on: 6 Jan 2018, 11:11 am »
Hi Xinon

Maybe Chris could connect remotely an see what is going on.

james

Xinon

Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #391 on: 6 Jan 2018, 11:16 am »
Hi Xinon

Maybe Chris could connect remotely an see what is going on.

james

In service mode now.
Service id 22
Do you need more?

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 16917
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #392 on: 6 Jan 2018, 11:58 am »
In service mode now.
Service id 22
Do you need more?

That should be fine - just have to wait for Chris to see this.

james

Xinon

Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #393 on: 6 Jan 2018, 02:59 pm »
No luck in updating BDA3, maybe the old model with wrong Bootloader.
Restarted everything now, if it stops playing I set in service mode again.

Is this a BDA3 from early 2015 with old Bootloader?




Xinon

Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #394 on: 6 Jan 2018, 04:43 pm »
Service id 82

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 16917
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #395 on: 6 Jan 2018, 07:17 pm »
Ok leave it in service mode and I am sure Chris will get to as soon as he sees this.

I will email him as well.

james

Xinon

Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #396 on: 8 Jan 2018, 03:41 pm »
Thanx.
It is now in service mode
ID 30

Nick V

Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #397 on: 11 Apr 2018, 04:13 pm »
Is anyone using a digital processor between their BDP and their DAC?

I'm considering a BDP-1 for my main system, and my digital signal chain would be as follows:

Bryston BPD-1 > AES/XLR > miniDSP DDRC-22D (re-clocks all incoming signals to 96/24 for Dirac Live processing) > Coax Digital > Esoteric SA-50 DAC

Does anyone know if this would cause any issues?

Also, is anyone using a router/wireless extender that's connected to wi-fi to hard-wire their BDP to Ethernet? I don't have hard-wired ethernet running into the room my main system is in.

CanadianMaestro

Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #398 on: 11 Apr 2018, 04:32 pm »

Also, is anyone using a router/wireless extender that's connected to wi-fi to hard-wire their BDP to Ethernet? I don't have hard-wired ethernet running into the room my main system is in.

I use a Netgear AV200. Works perfectly with my BDP. Runs through a wall outlet and ethernet CAT cable from my BDP.

artur9

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 124
Re: BRYSTON BDP DIGITAL PLAYERS NOW Roon Ready
« Reply #399 on: 11 Apr 2018, 04:46 pm »
Is anyone using a digital processor between their BDP and their DAC?

I have a Lyngdorf DPA-1 between my DAC (Gungnir) and the BDP-1.  BDP-1 -> AES -> DPA-1 -> Coax -> Gungnir.

DPA-1 doing crossover, RoomPerfect processing.  Sounds supercallifragilicious.